Emerging Leaders Council

The Legal Services Corporation’s Emerging Leaders Council will bring together some of the country’s rising leaders to help increase public awareness of the crisis in civil legal aid and the importance of providing equal access to justice to all low-income Americans.

Section Dropdown

Emerging Leaders Council Co-Chairs

Profile images of the Emerging Leaders Council's 3 co-chairs.

Kristen Sonday, Eduardo Gonzalez, and Sara Agate

Justice Rising Blog Logo

Justice Rising

Justice Rising is a publication of the LSC's Emerging Leaders Council. Read it for their insights on closing the justice gap and the latest developments in access-to-justice efforts. 

Emerging Leaders Council Members

Sara Agate (Co-Chair)
Founder, 1871

Liani Balasuriya
U.S. Department of Commerce

Omid G. Bañuelos
Associate, Williams & Connolly LLP

Lester Booker Jr.
Vice President, Head of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Communications, Citizens Bank

Aaron Brooks
Associate General Counsel, Bank OZK

Amanda Brown
Founder and Executive Director, Lagniappe Law Lab

Mikaela Burkhardt
Associate, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Hannah Calhoon
Founder, Calhoon Impact, LLC

Nyssa Chopra
Tech Associate, Perkins Coie LLP

W. Andrew Crown
Investment Professional, Four More Capital

Mauricio Duarte
Justice Entrepreneur, A2J Tech

Kevin Golembiewski
Deputy Solicitor General, FL Attorney General’s Office

Eduardo Gonzalez (Co-Chair)
Program Officer for Civil Justice, American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Kiff Hamp
Executive Director, Huron Waterloo Pathways Initiative

Nick Hasenfus
Associate, Holland & Knight LLP

Chase Hertel
Director of Consumer & Counsel, SimpleCitizen

Johnathan Hill
Community Engagement Lead, Relativity

Silas Horst
Program Manager, The Just Trust

Kelsea A. Jeon
J.D. Candidate, Stanford Law School 

LaDierdre Johnson
Manager, Legal Services National Technology Assistance Project

David Layfer
Senior Counsel, AbbVie

Daniel Liss
CEO, Dispo
Creative Director, Gensler

Katrina Logan
Direction Attorney, Economic Advancement Program
Community Legal Services, Inc.

Amelia McGowan
Senior Attorney, Mississippi Center for Justice

Josh Meltzer 
Senior Counsel, Office of the President, University of California

Dorna Moini
Founder, Documate.org  

Ben Mundel
Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Alex Nelson
Senior Manager, Strategy & Analysis, Logically

Eric Osborne
Member, Sherrard, Roe, Voigt, & Harbison, PLC

Neil Pai
General Counsel, Founders Fund

Christian Palacios
Former Summer Associate, Proskauer Rose LLP

Adrian Palma
Pro Bono Program Manager, Microsoft Corporation

Rohan Pavuluri
Cofounder, Upsolve 

Zachary Pierce
J.D. Candidate, University of Virginia School of Law

Julian Polaris
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Brad Robertson
Partner, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP

Luke Ruse
General Counsel, Ontra

Laura Safdie
COO & General Counsel, Casetext

Samantha Sanchez
Legal Technology Leader, TechBridge 

Russell Shankland
Partner, Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

Mackenzie Sheehy
Corporate Counsel, HashiCorp

Shelly Skinner 
Ethics/Labor Attorney

Mark Slobodien 
Vice President of Government Affairs, VITAS Healthcare

Kristen Sonday (Co-Chair)
Founder, Paladin

Aidan Sova
Human Rights Commissioner, Washtenaw County

Stephen Spector
Associate, Sidley Austin

Sam Swartz
Public Policy, Stripe

Millie Tadewaldt
Founder & CEO, Brilliant

Jason Tashea
Product Manager, Quest for Justice
Founder, Justice Codes

Marc Theriault
Circuit Executive, U.S. Courts for the Sixth Circuit

Garrett Thomas
Founder & Managing Attorney, The Law Office of Garrett Thomas

Anil Vassanji
Associate, Litigation
Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP

Katharyn Ivera Christian Voit
Pro Bono Counsel, Duane Morris LLP

J. Sterling Williams, IV
Associate, Greenburg Traurig LLP 

Miguel Willis
Executive Director, Access to Justice Technology Fellows Program
Innovator in Residence, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Emmy Wydman
Law Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Durham, North Carolina

David Zimmer
Partner, Goodwin Procter LLP

Stay Informed with LSC Updates